Chennai Super Kings players celebrate the dismissal of a LSG batter.© BCCI/IPL

Chennai Super Kings played their first home match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 in Chennai on Monday. Batting first, the MS Dhoni-led CSK notched a huge total of 217/7 in 20 overs, courtesy some brilliant batting from Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway. In reply, Lucknow Super Giants had a brilliant start with Kyle Mayers hitting a 22-ball 53. However, after he departed LSG kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Moeen Ali returned with a four-wicket haul. Lucknow Super Giants could manage 205/7 in 20 overs and lost he match by 12 runs. (FULL IPL POINTS TABLE)

The win saw Chennai Super Kings climb to the sixth spot in the 10-team table with two points from as many games with a run-rate of 0.036. The loss saw LSG go down to the third spot with two points from as many games and a run-rate of 0.950. Rajasthan Royals (2 points, 3.600 NRR) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (2 points, 1.981 NRR) hold the top two places in the table. Gujarat Titans (2 points, 0.514 NRR) is the fourth-placed team.


Talking about the match, Chennai Super Kings defeated Lucknow Super Giants by 12 runs in an Indian Premier League. Ruturaj Gaikwad slammed his second successive fifty and shared 110 runs for the opening wicket with Devon Conway (47 off 29) as CSK posted a commanding 217 for 7 after being sent into bat.

Opening the innings, Gaikwad, after his 92 in the opening game, smashed 57 off 31 with three fours and four sixes. Conway, who struck five boundaries and two hits over the fence, gave him good support. Spinner Ravi Bishnoi (3/28) and Mark Wood (3/49) scalped three wickets apiece for LSG. Chasing the target, Kyle Mayers made a whirlwind 22-ball 53 and shared 79 runs for 5.3 overs with skipper KL Rahul (20).

But once Mayers departed, LSG lost steam as Nicholas Pooran made an 18-ball 32 before CSK restricted them to 205 for seven. Moeen Ali was the pick of the bowlers for CSK with figures of 4 for 26. Brief Scores: Chennai Super Kings 217/7 in 20 overs (Ruturaj Gaikwad 57, Devon Conway 47; Ravi Bishnoi 3/28, Mark Wood 3/49). Lucknow Super Giants: 205 for 7 in 20 overs (Kyle Mayers 53; Nicholas Pooran 32; Moeen Ali 4/26)

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.